Skip to content
Home Gym3.9

SPORTNOW Power Cage with Cable Pulley Review: 900kg Frame for £350

Jack Atkins

By Jack Atkins, Home Gym Equipment Specialist · Updated 3 October 2026

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases made through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. This never affects our ratings.

SPORTNOW Power Cage with Cable Pulley Review: 900kg Frame for £350
SPORTNOW Power Cage with Cable Pulley System

SPORTNOW

SPORTNOW Power Cage with Cable Pulley System

3.9

SPORTNOW's Power Cage with Adjustable Cable Pulley System costs £349.99 (3 October 2026) and puts a power rack, a dual cable pulley setup, a pull-up bar and dip handles into one 80kg steel frame. The headline is a 900kg load rating, which is three times the figure on SPORTNOW's older cable crossover cage and far beyond anything a home lifter will put on it. The weak spot isn't the steel. It's a listing that leaves too much unsaid about the parts you'll actually touch: the safety catches, the pulley ratio, the accessories and the warranty.

We rate it 3.9 out of 5. It's a strong spec for the money, and the 19-position pulleys are the best thing about it, but you're buying on a thinner description than most cages at this price give you.

How we review

This review is research-based. We haven't assembled or trained in this cage. We worked from SPORTNOW's Amazon UK listing (title, feature bullets and listed dimensions), compared it against the power cages and cable machines we've already reviewed, and checked NHS strength guidance and published research on resistance training. Where the listing is vague or contradicts itself, we say so rather than fill the gap with a guess.

Who it is for

This suits someone setting up a garage or spare-room gym who wants barbell squats and presses plus cable work, and doesn't have the floor space or budget for a separate cable machine. The pulleys cover lat pulldowns, seated cable rows, cable flyes and tricep pushdowns, so you're not limited to the handful of moves a bare rack allows.

It also suits lifters who already own plates. Because it takes 25mm and 50mm plates, an old standard set from the loft and a newer Olympic set will both work.

Skip it if you want certainty before you spend. Our best power cage UK guide lists racks with fuller spec sheets, and if you need clear warranty terms in writing, that's a reason to look elsewhere.

Check the SPORTNOW Power Cage price on Amazon£349.99

Pros

  • Rack and dual cable pulleys in one frame for £349.99
  • 19 pulley height positions from 29cm to 173cm on each side
  • 900kg frame rating, the highest of the cages we've reviewed under £400
  • Pull-up bar and dip handles included
  • Takes both 25mm standard and 50mm Olympic plates
  • Listed at around 80kg, heavy enough to sit steady once loaded

Cons

  • No separate load limits for the safety catches, J-hooks or pulleys
  • Pulley ratio isn't stated
  • Listing doesn't name the cable attachments in the box
  • No warranty term on the listing
  • Listing gives two different depths (128cm and 168cm)
  • No bar, plates or bench included

The 900kg question

A 900kg rating sounds like commercial kit. Read it carefully, though. The listing says the frame "is engineered to load 900kg", and that's almost certainly a static figure for the whole steel structure under evenly spread weight. It doesn't tell you what a single safety catch will take when a 120kg bar drops onto it from a failed squat, and that's the number that matters when you train alone.

SPORTNOW doesn't publish separate limits for the safety catches, J-hooks, pull-up bar or dip handles. Ultrasport, by comparison, gives four separate figures for its cheaper rack. We'd treat the 900kg claim as a sign the frame is heavily built (the 80kg listed weight backs that up) and still be conservative with what you drop onto the catches until you've seen them in person.

The pulley system

Each side has its own pulley that moves through 19 height positions between 29cm and 173cm. That's a properly wide range: low enough for curls, pull-throughs and rows, high enough for pulldowns and face pulls, and the stops in between let you set flyes and woodchops at chest or hip height. Plenty of budget rack-and-pulley combos give you only a high and a low anchor, so this is a real advantage.

What the listing doesn't tell you is the ratio. On a 1:1 pulley, 20kg of plates feels like 20kg at the handle. On a 2:1, it feels like roughly 10kg and the cable travels twice as far. Neither is wrong, but it changes which plates you'll need and how your numbers compare with a gym machine. The listing also says the cage comes with "multiple handle attachments" without naming them, so don't assume a rope, a long bar or an ankle strap is included until you've checked with the seller.

SPORTNOW Power Cage with Cable Pulley key specs (from the Amazon listing)
Price£349.99 (3 October 2026)
Dimensions168cm x 128cm x 215cm (a second field lists 168cm width)
Listed weightAbout 80kg
Load rating900kg (frame, per listing)
PulleysDual independent, 19 positions from 29cm to 173cm
Pulley ratioNot stated
Plate compatibility25mm standard and 50mm Olympic
IncludedSafety catches, J-hooks, pull-up bar, dip handles, cable accessories (not itemised)
ColourBlack
WarrantyNot stated on the listing

Space and setup

The listing gives 168cm by 128cm by 215cm, but its own item dimensions show both length and width as 168cm. We can't tell which is right from the page, so measure for a 168cm square to be safe. Then add room to the sides: cable flyes and woodchops need your arms out wide, so the real working area is closer to 3m across.

At 215cm high, it fits under a standard 2.4m UK ceiling with room to spare for assembly. A low garage is a different story. Check the clearance under any up-and-over door track at the exact spot the cage will stand, and if you want full pull-ups you'll need headroom above the bar too. At 80kg of steel before plates, put gym flooring down first.

How it differs from SPORTNOW's other cage

SPORTNOW sells two cages with cables, and the names are close enough to confuse anyone. Our SPORTNOW cable crossover power cage review covers the older one (ASIN B0FZZWCWYF), which was £359.99 when we last checked. The differences:

  • Load rating. The crossover model is rated to 300kg for the frame, with 120kg on its plate-loading weight bars. This model claims 900kg and gives no separate pulley limit.
  • Size. The crossover stands 220cm tall on roughly 168cm by 165cm; this one is 215cm tall and possibly shallower at 128cm, if the listing's size field is the accurate one.
  • Pulley adjustment. This model's 19 stated positions from 29cm to 173cm are spelled out clearly. The crossover listing describes high, low and crossover positions without that detail.
  • Extras. The crossover ships with a landmine, T-bar row handle, leg press bar, triceps rope, chain, two resistance bands and a footboard. This model lists dip handles and unnamed "cable accessories", and no landmine.

If you want a landmine and a known accessory list, the crossover is the safer buy for £10 more. If you care more about frame rating, finer pulley adjustment and dip handles, this one makes more sense.

Why the training matters

The NHS physical activity guidelines ask adults to do strengthening activities that work all the major muscle groups on at least two days a week. A cage with pulleys covers legs, back, chest, shoulders and arms in one footprint, which makes that target realistic at home. A 2022 meta-analysis of 16 cohort studies found muscle-strengthening activities were linked to a 10% to 17% lower risk of all-cause mortality, cardiovascular disease, diabetes and total cancer, with the biggest drop at around 30 to 60 minutes a week (Momma et al., British Journal of Sports Medicine). That's two decent sessions, not a daily grind.

How it compares

The Ultrasport Power Rack is about £90 cheaper and comes with a 4 year warranty, which is its biggest advantage here. It has a single lat pulldown and low row rather than two adjustable pulleys, though, and its 200kg spotter rating is modest. Pick the Ultrasport if a long warranty matters more than cable variety.

The WINNOW power cage at around £331 is the closest rival. It names every attachment in the box and states its 50mm uprights, but its pulley is a high and low setup rather than 19 positions. The Strongway MultiGym power cage costs a little more, at under £400, and gives you a 400kg-rated cage with dual pulleys, a landmine and safety pins. If you want a plate-loaded cable station with a sturdier rack and can stretch to £800, the GYM MASTER GM3 adds an 11-gauge frame and a bench.

Against that group, the SPORTNOW wins on pulley adjustability and loses on information. You're the one who has to fill in the gaps.

See today's SPORTNOW Power Cage price

Recommended reads

Frequently asked questions

Can you really load 900kg on the SPORTNOW Power Cage?

Treat 900kg as a static rating for the steel frame, not a figure for the safety catches or the pulleys. SPORTNOW doesn't give separate limits for the J-hooks, safety catches, pull-up bar or cable carriages, so assume each of those is lower and ask the seller before you load anything heavy onto one component.

Is this the same as the SPORTNOW cable crossover power cage?

No. The cable crossover model (ASIN B0FZZWCWYF) is a 300kg-rated cage with a landmine, T-bar handle, leg press bar and a long accessory bundle. This newer model claims a 900kg frame rating and gives you 19 pulley height positions from 29cm to 173cm, but the listing is far less specific about which attachments come in the box.

What is the pulley ratio on the SPORTNOW Power Cage?

The listing doesn't say. A 1:1 pulley moves the plates as far as the handle moves, while a 2:1 pulley halves the felt weight and doubles the travel. Ask the seller before ordering if you plan to compare numbers with a gym cable machine.

How much space does the SPORTNOW Power Cage need?

The listing gives 168cm by 128cm by 215cm, though one of its own dimension fields lists the width as 168cm too, so plan for up to 168cm square. Add clear space either side for cable work and around 10cm above the 215cm frame, which a standard 2.4m UK ceiling covers.

Does it come with weights or a bench?

No. You need your own barbell and plates, and a bench for pressing. It takes both 25mm standard and 50mm Olympic plates, so an existing set will work on the pulleys and storage.

What warranty does the SPORTNOW Power Cage have?

The Amazon listing we checked doesn't state a warranty term. SPORTNOW's other cage listing quoted six months against manufacturing defects, but we can't confirm the same applies here, so ask the seller and keep your Amazon order details.

Related guides

Best Exercise is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This comes at no extra cost to you and never influences our independent reviews or rankings.