
BodyTrain Advanced Single Station Multi Gym Review: 72kg for Under £300
Our BodyTrain multi gym review: the 72kg shrouded stack, 12.5lb jumps, stations, 213cm height, lifetime frame warranty and £283.99 price against rivals.
By Jack Atkins, Home Gym Equipment Specialist · Updated 3 November 2026
We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases made through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. This never affects our ratings.


tectake
The tectake Fitness Power Station is a budget pin-select multi gym with a chest press, a butterfly fly, a lat pulldown, a leg extension and cable arm work on one steel frame. It cost £306.99 on Amazon UK and was in stock when we checked on 3 November 2026, which makes it the cheapest stack machine we've reviewed, about £29 under the HOMCOM 65kg.
We rate it 3.6 out of 5. The station list covers most of the upper body plus quads, and the 160 x 98cm footprint fits a spare room. What drags the score down is the listing itself: it never clearly states the total stack weight, the most important number on any multi gym, and it describes the machine as a "power rack" and a "leg press", which it isn't.
How we review
This review is research-based. We worked from tectake's Amazon UK listing and Amazon's catalogue data (checked 3 November 2026), compared it with the multi gyms we've already reviewed and read the research on loading and machine training. We haven't assembled or trained on this machine, and where the listing is vague or contradicts itself we say so rather than filling the gap with a guess.
Buy this if you're a beginner, you want guided machine work in a small room, and £307 is your ceiling. If you've never trained your back with a pulldown, a light stack will still give you months of progress.
Skip it if you already lift. Without a published stack total you're buying blind on the one spec that decides when you'll outgrow it, and the York, Strongway and Marcy machines we've covered all print theirs.
Check the tectake Fitness Power Station price on Amazon£306.99Here's the problem in plain terms. tectake tells you the weight blocks "lock in 4.5 kg increments", that the machine has a "high load capacity of 150 kg" and that the size is 160 x 98 x 203cm. Amazon's catalogue data puts the machine's own weight at about 83kg. Nowhere in the listing text or the item data does a total stack weight appear.
We won't guess one. What we can say is that the whole machine weighs roughly 83kg, frame included, while York's 100kg stack machine weighs 162kg. That doesn't tell you the stack, but it doesn't suggest a heavy one either. And 150kg as a "load capacity" almost certainly isn't the stack; read it as the maximum safe load on the frame, probably meaning your body weight.
The 4.5kg steps matter too. That's about 10lb a jump, and on a triceps pushdown or a fly a 4.5kg rise can be a big percentage leap. A 2021 narrative review on time-efficient strength and hypertrophy training suggests a 6 to 15 rep max range for most work, and notes that lighter loads of 15 to 40 reps also build muscle if you push close to failure. So when a weight step is too big, add reps first and move up the stack only once you hit the top of your range. That's a workable fix for smaller muscles, and it's also why the stack total matters so much for pulldowns.
If you already lift, message the seller through Amazon and ask for the stack total and the pulley ratio before you pay. A clear answer would move this score up.
| Weight stack | Total not clearly stated on listing |
|---|---|
| Weight increments | 4.5kg per block |
| Stations | Chest press, butterfly fly, lat pulldown, leg extension, arm curl, triceps pushdown |
| Cables | Steel with plastic coating |
| Padding | Imitation leather |
| Extras | Metal step plate for standing curls, plastic floor caps |
| Load capacity | 150kg (not defined on listing) |
| Dimensions | 160cm L x 98cm W x 203cm H |
| Machine weight | Approx 83kg |
| Price (3 Nov 2026) | £306.99 |
| Pulley ratio | Not stated |
| Warranty | Not stated on listing |
The copy reads as if it were written to catch search terms rather than describe the product. In one bullet it's a "leg press machine", in the next it's a "power rack", and it claims the station suits "strength training and cardio". It has no leg press footplate, no J-hooks or safeties for a barbell, and nothing about it is cardio equipment.
None of that makes it a bad machine. It just means you should judge it on the stations tectake actually describes, which are the chest press, the fly, the lat pulldown, the leg extension, curls and pushdowns. The phrase "like having a personal trainer at home" belongs in the same bin.
The chest station gives you a seated press and a butterfly fly. Our pec deck guide covers setting the fly arms so the stretch stays in your chest and out of the front of your shoulders.
On the top pulley you get lat pulldowns and triceps pushdowns. The metal step plate on the low pulley is a small thing that helps: you can stand on it for cable curls and the machine won't shuffle across the floor as you pull. The leg extension sits at the front of the bench for quads.
That leaves gaps. tectake doesn't list a leg curl, so hamstrings get nothing, and there's no seated row station named either. Pair it with a kettlebell or a couple of dumbbells for goblet squats and Romanian deadlifts and you've covered the lower body properly. Our multi gym workout plan shows how to split those across three sessions.
For a beginner, probably yes, if it means you train. The NHS recommends adults do strengthening activities that work all the major muscles on at least 2 days a week, and a machine in the corner that takes seconds to adjust is easier to stick with than a gym membership you have to drive to.
Where it falls down is longevity. A stack machine can't take extra plates, so once your pulldown hits the top pin you're stuck with slow reps or a new machine. With the York sitting at £399 and printing a 100kg stack, the £92 difference buys you a known ceiling, and for anyone already training, we'd spend it.
The HOMCOM 65kg multi gym was £335.99 when we reviewed it in October. It costs a little more, but HOMCOM tells you the stack is 65kg and adds a leg curl to the leg extension, so you know what you're getting. Its 100kg user limit is lower than tectake's 150kg figure, though, and the HOMCOM is 7cm taller at 210cm.
The York Fitness 100kg multi gym is the step up we'd make if the budget stretches. It lists a full 100kg stack, a row, a pec deck and a 125kg user limit, and at 196cm it's the lowest of the three.
| tectake Power Station | HOMCOM 65kg | York Fitness 100kg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | £306.99 (Nov 2026) | £335.99 (Oct 2026) | about £399 (Nov 2026) |
| Stack | Not clearly stated | 65kg | 100kg |
| Footprint | 160 x 98cm | 135 x 103cm | 141 x 115cm |
| Height | 203cm | 210cm | 196cm |
| Leg work | Extension | Curl and extension | Leg station |
| Load / user limit | 150kg | 100kg | 125kg |
For the rest of the field, including bigger stacks and cable towers, see our best multi gym UK roundup, and browse the wider home gym section if you're kitting out a room from scratch.
See today's tectake Fitness Power Station priceIt's a reasonable entry-level stack machine at £306.99 (3 November 2026), the cheapest we've reviewed. You get a chest press, chest fly, lat pulldown, leg extension and arm work from one frame. The big catch is that the Amazon listing doesn't clearly state the total weight of the stack, so you can't know how long it will challenge you before you buy.
The listing doesn't say clearly. It confirms the blocks change in 4.5kg increments and gives a 150kg load capacity, but no total stack figure. The whole machine weighs about 83kg, roughly half of York's 100kg stack machine, which suggests a modest stack. Ask the seller for the exact number before ordering if you already lift.
No. The listing calls it a leg press machine and a power rack in places, but the described stations are a leg extension, chest press, chest fly, lat pulldown, biceps curl and triceps pushdown. There's no footplate for pressing and no rack for a barbell.
The listed size is 160 x 98 x 203cm. Leave clearance around the chest arms and the lat bar, and check your ceiling, because 203cm is close to the limit in many UK garages and loft rooms.
tectake doesn't explain it on the listing. Treat it as a maximum user weight with some margin, rather than a promise the stack goes that heavy.

Our BodyTrain multi gym review: the 72kg shrouded stack, 12.5lb jumps, stations, 213cm height, lifetime frame warranty and £283.99 price against rivals.
What a cable crossover machine is, how it differs from a functional trainer, what 177kg stacks really mean, the ceiling height you need and UK price bands.
Every common cable machine attachment explained: D-handles, rope, straight and EZ bars, V-bar, ankle straps and more, with exercises, the 4 to buy first and prices.

LIONSCOOL leg extension machine review: the V4.0's cable system, 400lb capacity, lying leg curl, 1.65m footprint and what the £429.99 price really buys you.
Best Exercise is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This comes at no extra cost to you and never influences our independent reviews or rankings.