Skip to content
Home Gym4.0

York Fitness Multi Gym Review: A 100kg Stack for £399

Jack Atkins

By Jack Atkins, Home Gym Equipment Specialist · Updated 2 November 2026

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases made through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. This never affects our ratings.

York Fitness Multi Gym Review: A 100kg Stack for £399
York Fitness Multi Gym, 100kg (220lbs) Weight Stack

York Fitness

York Fitness Multi Gym, 100kg (220lbs) Weight Stack

4.0

York Fitness's multi gym is a selectorised home station built around a 100kg (220lb) weight stack. The Amazon UK listing names a pec deck, a vertical chest press, an arm curl station with two height positions, a lat pull bar, a low row and a leg station, all on a steel frame that weighs 162kg and stands 196cm tall. On 2 November 2026 it sold for £399.00 on Amazon UK, and it was in stock.

We rate it 4.0 out of 5. That price buys more stack than most rivals at the same money, and the station list covers every major muscle group. It drops marks because York's listing leaves out the pulley ratio, the stack increments and the warranty term, which are three things you'd want to know before spending £400.

How we review

This review is based on research, not hands-on testing. We worked from York Fitness's Amazon UK listing and specifications, compared it with the other multi gyms we've covered (HOMCOM, Marcy and Strongway), checked live prices and stock on the day of writing, and read the research on machine training. We haven't assembled or trained on this unit, so specs appear as York lists them, and we flag anything the listing doesn't say.

Who it suits

The obvious buyer is someone who wants to train at home without learning barbell lifts or loading plates. You sit down, move a pin and press, and every movement runs on a fixed path, so nobody needs a spotter. Beginners and people coming back after a long break get the most from that.

It also suits households where two people of different strength share one machine. Changing the load takes seconds, where a barbell means stripping and reloading plates between sets.

Look elsewhere if you want to squat or deadlift heavy. A leg extension trains the quads, but it won't replace a loaded squat, and the frame can't take a barbell. A rack, bar and plates do more for the same money if strength on the big lifts is your goal; our guide to building a home gym walks through that choice.

Check the York Fitness multi gym price on Amazon£399.00

Pros

  • 100kg stack at £399 is heavier than most machines at this price
  • Separate pec deck and vertical chest press, so chest gets a press and a fly
  • Arm curl station adjusts to two heights
  • Lat bar and low row cover the back properly
  • Leg station included, which some rivals drop
  • 162kg product weight keeps the frame planted

Cons

  • Pulley ratio and stack increments aren't published
  • No warranty term on the Amazon listing
  • 125kg maximum user weight is modest
  • Leg work is limited to the leg station; no squat or leg press
  • A 162kg machine is a long build and hard to move once it's up

Stations and what they train

The chest is the best served area. York lists a chest trainer, which is a pec deck with pads or handles that swing together, and a separate vertical chest press. Having both means a compound press and an isolation fly without changing anything but your hands, and the pec deck is one of the easiest chest movements to learn on a machine.

For the back, the lat pull bar runs off the top pulley and the "rowing element" off the low pulley. Pulldowns and seated rows are the two exercises most home users underdo with dumbbells, so this is where a stack machine earns its floor space. If you want to understand what makes a good pulldown setup, our lat pulldown machine guide covers cable length, knee pads and bar choice.

The arm curl station has two height-adjustable positions, which matters more than it sounds: a curl pad set too high or low pushes the elbows out of line and the biceps lose tension at the bottom. The leg station is described on the listing as "leg stretches", which on a machine like this almost always means a leg extension (seated, with a padded roller at the shins). York doesn't confirm whether it also does a lying or seated leg curl, so don't assume hamstring work is covered.

York Fitness multi gym key specs
Weight stack100kg (220lb)
StationsPec deck, vertical chest press, arm curl, lat bar, low row, leg station
Arm curl2 positions, height adjustable
Dimensions196cm H x 115cm W x 141cm D
Product weight162kg
Max user weight125kg
FrameSteel
Pulley ratioNot stated on listing
Stack incrementsNot stated on listing
Price (2 Nov 2026)£399.00

Is 100kg enough?

On the pressing, fly, curl and leg extension stations, yes for almost everyone. You'd need to be very strong to max out 100kg on a machine pec deck or a single-station curl.

Pulldowns and rows are different. The back is a large, strong muscle group and both lifts run heavy; a trained lifter can pull close to bodyweight or more on a commercial pulldown. What the pin says and what you feel at the bar also depends on the pulley arrangement, and York doesn't state it. If the cable runs through a 2:1 setup, the effective load at the handle is half the pin number. We'd expect the top of the stack to be enough for most home users for a long time, but if you already pull heavy in a gym, this is the spec to query with York before buying.

Increments are the other unknown. Most home stacks move in 5kg plates, which is a coarse jump on a light curl or a lateral raise. Owners usually get around it with slower reps or more of them before moving the pin.

Machines vs free weights

People often worry that a stack machine is second best. The evidence says it isn't, at least for muscle size. A 2023 systematic review and meta-analysis in BMC Sports Science, Medicine and Rehabilitation found no meaningful difference in hypertrophy between free weight and machine-based training, with strength gains tending to follow whichever mode people trained and tested on.

What drives growth more is how much work you do. A meta-analysis by Schoenfeld and colleagues found a graded dose-response between weekly sets and muscle gain, which suits a pin-select machine nicely, since quick load changes make extra sets painless. The NHS asks adults to do strengthening activities that work all the major muscle groups on at least 2 days a week, and this station covers chest, back, shoulders, arms and quads in one place. For a ready-made plan, our multi gym workout has full body and upper/lower splits.

Space, build and assembly

At 196cm high, the York is shorter than several rivals that push past 200cm, which helps in a spare room or garage with a standard ceiling. The 115cm by 141cm footprint is the machine itself; you need clear space in front of the seat for the leg station and either side for getting on and off.

The 162kg product weight cuts both ways. It means the frame won't walk or rock during a heavy row, but it also means a long build, best done with two people, and you won't be shifting it to vacuum behind. Assemble it where it will live. A rubber floor mat protects floorboards and stops the base marking a laminate floor.

How it compares

HOMCOM's 65kg multi gym is £335.99 on the same day, about £60 cheaper, but with 35kg less in the stack; we think the York is the better buy for anyone past their first few months of training. Marcy's HG3000 was £499.00 on 2 November 2026 and comes with a shrouded stack and a clearer warranty, which is what the extra £100 pays for. Strongway's 72kg dual pulley machine costs £469.95 with a lighter stack. For the full field, see our best multi gym UK guide.

See today's York Fitness multi gym price

Recommended reads

Frequently asked questions

Is the York Fitness multi gym worth £399?

For most home users, yes. You get a full 100kg stack, a chest press, pec deck, lat bar, low row, arm curl and a leg station on a 162kg frame. HOMCOM's 65kg machine costs about £60 less with a much lighter stack, and Marcy's HG3000 costs about £100 more. The gaps are the listing's missing pulley ratio and warranty details.

How much space does the York multi gym need?

The Amazon listing gives 196cm high, 115cm wide and 141cm deep. Add at least 60cm around the sides and front so you can sit down, pull the lat bar and change the pin, and check that your ceiling clears 196cm with a few centimetres to spare.

What is the maximum user weight?

York lists a maximum user weight of 125kg on the Amazon listing. That covers most people, but heavier lifters should look at a bigger station with a higher rating.

What exercises can you do on it?

The listing names a chest trainer (pec deck), vertical chest press, arm curls with two height-adjustable positions, a lat pull bar, a rowing element and a leg station. That covers chest press, pec deck flyes, lat pulldowns, seated rows, triceps pushdowns, preacher-style curls and leg extensions, plus extra cable work from the low pulley.

Is 100kg enough weight on a multi gym?

For pressing, curls and leg extensions, almost certainly. The lat pulldown and row are where strong lifters run out first, especially if the cable runs through a pulley that reduces the effective load. York doesn't publish the ratio, so treat 100kg as the top end rather than a guaranteed 100kg at the handle.

Related guides

Best Exercise is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This comes at no extra cost to you and never influences our independent reviews or rankings.